Seeing With Fresh Eyes from Broadside

by

“One of the great challenges of everyday life is being able to see things with fresh eyes. It all starts to blur after a while into a haze of comforting, familiar, routine sameness.”  

One of the most important things I find in my daily work and life is to see with a fresh perspective.  For me, the easiest way to do this is when I travel.  As one of my favorite designers, Vicente Wolf, says in his book Crossing Boundaries,  “When I’m in New York, I see through New York eyes.  My range of vision is narrow:  I focus on my clients, my employees, my responsibilities.  But once I land in a new country, everything changes.  It’s like the phoropter.  Suddenly everything is sharp and clear.  When I am on a windswept plateau in Madagascar, I see how clouds are reflected in a puddle of rainwater — something I wouldn’t even notice in Manhattan.”

I think its important to be receptive to seeing in new ways … no matter who you are or what you do.

Click photo below to read this Broadside blog post:

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Seeing With Fresh Eyes from Broadside”

  1. Would You Rather Be Productive Or Creative? (via Broadside) « Laura Barbosa's Heart of Art Blog Says:

    […] Seeing With Fresh Eyes from Broadside (srhughes08.wordpress.com) […]

TELL US WHAT YOU THINK!

